Roasted Garbanzo Pumpkin Soup

As I’m trying to figure out a meal plan for Thanksgiving that accommodates my allergies and is something I’d actually eat, I stumbled upon the idea of a pumpkin soup for a starter course. I plan on doing something similar to this, but excited by the promise of tasty soup I ran the 8 steps to my kitchen and made this up quick. I had pumpkin and garbanzo (chickpeas, if you will) on hand so it was fairly simple.

You’ll need:

1 can Garbanzo Bean

1 can Pumpkin

1 1/2 cup Coconut Milk (I used the carton kind, not the thicker canned kind, although that would add more coconut flavor)

1 tsp Curry

1/2 tsp Cumin

and a dash to taste of Allspice, Garlic, Salt and Pepper.

Granted all these are approximations of measure, because generally when I cook I allow things to be created organically as I go. Cooking can be an art, I like to paint with spices, whatever, it usually tastes delicious.

First I roasted the Garbanzo beans with a touch of olive oil and garlic salt. I let them get lightly blackened before adding to the rest of the ingredients, which I threw into a saucepan. I used an immersion blender to make everything smooth, then brought to a light boil. Served with spinach garnish and a touch of dill.

This was surprisingly delicious, a touch of Thai and very filling. More uses for pumpkin! October may be over but November is still a “harvest” month to me and that means squashes and tubers. Christmas, you can wait your turn.

Enjoy my little Bunnies!

20131121-182538.jpg

20131121-182545.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Sciency Things

New science, old science, good science, bad science. Communicated.

Love and Lentils

Simple and nourishing vegetarian and vegan family recipes.

Into The Stratosphere

Into The Stratosphere | Fashion, Style & Boho Glamour

Edible Insight

Holistic Living, Food, Art & Culture

brendykins

Post-Graduation Ponderings on Fashion, Beauty, and Life!

Wander Onwards

Not All Who Wander Are Lost

Healthy Vegan recipes

A healthy journey into vegan world

littleirishbeautybox

A reliable place for all things beauty & fashion, with a little Irish charm.

amriaa

Beauty, Fashion, Lifestyle of a twenty-something med school student

Over My Styled Body

{giving fashionistas a daily dose of style one outfit at a time}

CatchAnEye

Life.Fashion.Beauty

Snap.That.Curvy.Girl.<3

UK Plus Size Fashion & Beauty Blog

The Flexi Foodie

Low-fat, plant-based, whole foods, yummy recipes & healthy living tips

Fashion Is All That

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle

gf and me

Gluten Free Recipes & Tips

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

hannahhotcakes

recipes, reviews and ramblings

Wondering in Wanderland

A place of magic tucked in between all of the crooked oaks.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 290 other followers

